HUMANISTIC DEPARTMENTS

I was educated in a family where natural sciences were a fundamental value, so that when I had the intention to abandon the study of chemistry of biological molecules, of which I was very fond during the years of my secondary school, in order to begin the graduate studies in philosophy, my parents disagree altogether with my choice. Anyway during my graduate studies I continue to learn natural sciences and mathematics, but with the feeling that there is a different kind of knowledge, more essential then the naturalistic one. When I was preparing my admission to the PhD program, I was strongly impressed by Wundt’s statement that natural sciences are based on models, whereas psychology attempts a direct knowledge of phenomena. Many years along I pursued the attempt of a sort of science of direct experience, studying Mach, Brentano, Husserl and other authors of the phenomenological movement. After almost ten years I understood that such a program is impossible. I was impressed by a statement of Evandro Agazzi, who during a conference told that for two thousands years mankind attempts without achievements to build a first science of the being and only with the scientific revolution and the natural science based on models we began to understand the world around us. So I undertake an investigation more top down, that is an analysis of scientific concepts through a comparison with the structures of experience. Even this humbler program is failed. Structures of experience must be investigated through psychology and not through philosophy, as I believed. Now I have understood that philosophy comes after a deep and detailed learning of empirical sciences, both natural, and human ones.

During this slow and tiring evolution I spent almost all my work time in humanistic departments. At the end of the story I understood the deep confusion, hypocrisy and misunderstandings which governs these institution in Italy. Now I work in a naturalistic oriented department and I have found a very good enviroment for my investigation. Here I found people that respect spontaneusly Cato’s celebrated words: rem tene, verba sequentur. On the contrary in humanistic departments these wise dictum is almost always disregarded.

Lascia un commento

Archiviato in FILOSOFIA DELLA SCIENZA, SOCIETA'

Rispondi

